Do Golfers Vote With Their Feet?

manxchatterbox

Peel is better than Douglas.

And that's according to the approximately 125 golfers who have moved from Douglas Golf Club and course to join and play at Peel.

The problem is something to do with the first fairway and green where the area has been re-seeded but the grass hasn't improved..so they are going to get it turfed over. I'm no expert but doesn't it sound as though there is some underlying problem with the soil/ground as to why the re-seeded area hasn't improved? So, won't it be a waste of time effort and money just putting turf down cos surely that won't take either...a grass (green lawn type) expert gardener please....

The more people who leave douglas club the best it is for house builders to use the land and shove a brand new golf course up near the incinerator. Golfers don't care, they just want to play golf and do deals and that.

Peel is better than Douglas.

In fairness, all of the courses on the Island (bar 1 maybe) are better than Pulrose. It only ever had a good following because it was as cheap as chips.

But people won't be shafted forever by shite facilities.

The trouble with the first and last holes was that they just dumped a load of rubble there when they repaired it, so the fairway is full of rocks and you risk damaging equipment when you hit off it. I have a dedicated club for that fairway that I don't mind damaging.

Some of the holes are great, but around there par for the course is 3 balls nicked by kids from the estate who try to sell them back to you a couple of holes later, and 2 arguments with drunk scallies riding their scramblers around. The lovely view of the power station doesn't quite make up for it. Peel is far better, as is anywhere else.