The Good Things On The Iom

iomcombat

Ok folks, as frankly Im getting sick of a load of whinging halfwits constantly moaning about how bad everything is on the Island I thought I'd try a thread about what people like over here.

For me the first factor is the much lower levels of crime than in UK cities. Having spent 3 years in Liverpool the random crime, particularly violent crime, seemed awful compared to here. The IOM ain't exactly crime free but at least Im not worried about nutters with swords attacking people in a park or firebombing cars (both happened within 200 yrds from where I was staying the first week in Liverpool).

The second thing for me is the wages and taxes. When I graduated I checked out the poss of living in the UK but for the same sort of job that I was looking at over here the monthly take-home was much less. This partic hit home when a friend of mine moved to Ireland and was on the equiz of £25k p/a. WHich he thought was great until he realised that after tax it worked out closer to £13k.

Finally for me its the manx countryside. Its relatively unpolluted (apart from wankers letting their dogs crap everywhere and not clearing it up) and has a good variety and a great coastline.

For me, while there may be some things that are better in other places the reason I'm over here is because the good outweighs the bad. Anyone else got things they like about the IOM?

• Replies 82
  • Created
  • Last Reply

I love everything about the island - its fascinating culture and heritage, its wonderful landscapes, its friendly and unpretentious people and its unique vintage transport system. I was born in England and lived there for the first 38 years of my life, but the first time I visited the Isle of Man I felt like I'd come home.