[BBC News]Aircraft '30 seconds from impact'

Newsbot

Upon its approach to Ronaldsway, the 50-year-old commander noticed the aircraft was not tuned to the Instrument Landing System (ILS).

It is considered that to knowingly take such action was highly inappropriate and runs counter to accepted practices

AAIB report

But because he was training a first officer at the time he decided not to point out the mistake.

Oh he was training? That's alright then.

Scary thought that, I don't think I like the idea of pilots training with passengers on board.

I suppose they have to learn with passengers at some stage.

Is scary though, Just goes to show what one mistake can do.

Hmmm. I'm only an amateur pilot, but without knowing ALL the details of this incident, I have to say that it may not have been as dangerous as it seems.

Depends on the weather - if the co-pilot was flying on instruments and the captain had good visibility, it all feels pretty reasonable. I hate to admit it, but the media LOVES to dramatise aeroplane stories with shock horror headlines and lurid details that any pilot would laugh at. All this '30 seconds to disaster' stuff smacks of hype.

Let's face it, when driving along at 30mph you're never more than a couple of seconds to disaster - should you decide to apply full steering lock!

ALL airlines operate a policy of on-the-job training - but to even get into the right-hand seat of a commercial airliner takes much more training than I've accrued over the years. And possibly the best way to train someone is to allow them to make 'safe' mistakes and then show them the error of their ways.

I'm not suggesting that airline safety should ever be compromised, but it SOUNDS to me reading this thread and the BBC item that the captain of this flight knew exactly what he was doing and there was never any REAL danger.

Chocks away!!

Agree with Stu on this one. The link in the other thread gives the full AAIB report on this 'incident'.