The Pp Races

ccm

Having just read about 'the man who saved the TT' I thought I'd bring it to your attention.

Very interesting reading - if what he says is true especially announcing his budget (surely the Tourism Board won't be happy) then I'm surprised he's been allowed to say it.

Me?

I think 'he's not the man who saved the TT, he's a very silly boy'.

• Replies 48
  • Created
  • Last Reply

I'm not a TT expert, or fan come to think of it, so I don't know the politics involved.

But it seems a balanced, interesting and VERY positive article (for a change). It's obvious that the TT HAS had a good shake-up and talk of its' demise is fading. Maybe that's the 100th year hype, but maybe it's the work that Paul and Milky have been doing?

I refer to the published article in which he states he has a £3m budget to spend ....now I worked for the Government a few years ago and I'm very surprised they've allowed him to go public (if indeed they have).

Paul and Richard Quayle have been Rider Liason officers up to now, Paul taking over as TT and Motorsport Development manager last year.

I think that they have done a good job in bringing some new riders in from various places over the past couple of years, but I think they went beyond their remit and tried getting involved in the actual running of the races, an area which they did not understand. This caused a lot of friction with the organisers, who contrary to what everyone seems to think, are very good at what they do. They were just doing it on a very low budget.

It even got to the stage where the Tourist Board were touting around for some organisation to take over the running of the event. This alone shows that they had no understanding of the complexities of the job of organising their own event. They had no takers!