Whores, Politicians And Ugly Buildings

cheeky boy

"Whores, Politicians and ugly buildings all get respectable if they live long enough"

Heritage / Dandara come in for all the stick, but I doubt if they would even make the top ten when it comes to the Island's ugly buildings

My top three:

The Government Planning office on Mount Havelock, the mouldy fiberglass Doric columns cheapen an already cheap & nasty office block

The Post office HQ on Circular Road, a soulless facebrick monstrosity. Won an award for the worst new building in Britain

Those hideous apartments on Queens Prom, I think they were thrown up by JG Kelly.

Flat Soviet style frontage with plastic mouldings glued on over tiny windows in a laughable attempt to fit in with the Victorian

neighbours

• Replies 36
  • Created
  • Last Reply
The Post office HQ on Circular Road, a soulless facebrick monstrosity. Won an award for the worst new building in Britain

I know that building well, I worked in it for 6 years. Horrible place to work - little natural light inside, air conditioning non-existent, inside divided up into lots of little glass boxes (not very open plan). Just grim.

It was common knowledge in the PO that the design was obsolete before they even started building it.

I really dislike the office on the prom, where the villiars was, and the 'town square' next to it. Fucking ugly it is, should never have been allowed on the prom.

I used to wonder how they ever got permission to build (what is now) the Hilton. When it was built you had the historical facade of the Castlemona Hotel with it's small collenade on one side and the beauty which was the Lido / Palace ballrooms behind.

How, therefore, did a predominantly concrete rectanglular block sit with those surroundings?

Of course, the ugliest buidling of all is no longer with us. Summerland.

Those hideous apartments on Queens Prom, I think they were thrown up by JG Kelly.