Mass Screening

bluemonday

Local Doctors Opinion

Sorry but I think it's a good idea.

For example, he says it's far more effective to focus on women over the age of 50 when it comes to checking for breast cancer:

Yes but it's more devastating for younger women and they ( and their young children ) have more to lose.

Obviously it boils down to money and I'd agree

it being very resource-intensive.

But surely it shouldn't be written off and is a good idea?

Opinions?

Local Doctors Opinion

For example, he says it's far more effective to focus on women over the age of 50 when it comes to checking for breast cancer:

Yes but it's more devastating for younger women and they ( and their young children ) have more to lose.

Opinions?

I would have thought early detection in even a few cases would save enough money in treatment to make this cost effective. I'm not an expert though.

Taking mammograms as an example of the early screening, here's why there's little point in doing it too early:

Breakthrough link

The reasons why the NHS Breast Screening Programme starts at the age of 50, are:

Most breast cancers occur in postmenopausal women (over the age of 50).

The breast tissue of younger (premenopausal) women is denser - making it harder to get a clear picture of the breast.

If you're considered high risk you can get ultrasounds instead. (in theory at least)

Its not just about money though: You have to consider the restraints on the time of doctors and other staff. You can't just hire more.

Surely this would have to be compulsory to be effective anyway? I have deep moral reservation about forced public health measures, unless they are to prevent an epidemic or something, which is clearly not the case here.

Local Doctors Opinion

Opinions?

I shouldn't hold your breath waiting for this to happen on the IOM.

They can't even run a breast screening recall system. And that is know to save lives.