Wow Lag Spikes?

Celt

Ever since the famous upgrade, i've been getting major lag spikes on WoW. The realm i'm on is Wildhammer and it seems to hit me about 11pm to 12 pm. I've got no d/l in the background and clean on virus check and spyware.

Ts breaks up as well but all i get from MT is that it's the server.

Strange when the other people i talk to on TS say they don't have a problem, only me and Ts breaks up as well.

Any ideas ?

I play on different servers each night and have never had an issue, Many people i know play each night and dont have a problem. It looks like the people who dont have problems far outweigh the people with problems so what would that suggest? ISP or something else? people are very quick to blame the ISP without doing anything about it or thinking about other parts of the equasion.

Posted on one of the other broaband themed threads:

It means that the connection speed is ok and you should think about other factors, ping test to local/uk sites or to the game servers to see which hop has the increase. If you are on dynanmic ip you could log into the router and change the ip address and see if this improves, or just blame the isp and do nothing about it.

Edit to add a classic quote from the wow support forums

Seems like telia is causing huge problems for wow players... shame really, tried to put up with it but can no longer handle it anymore!

UK player, BT broadband, but to be honest, it aint a router or my ISP, it's telia

!

wow forums

I'm getting stupid lag spikes when playing WOW. It used to be fine before the upgrade but it's really getting on my tits.

I've tried the following:

- Allocating a static IP

- Upgrading the routers firmware

- Tested any bottlenecks on my system.

All to no avail so i'm guessng it's the ISP.

I've changed my dynamic ip,

tried alot of different servers, pissed off making new chars :P

upgraded any firmware, router is able to take up to 8mg.

changed all wired router cables for new