Rent A Flat June/july

Zabadeus

Hello, I'm a student from Poland, interested in spending my summer holidays on the Island, but totally unexperienced considering things like finding acommodation, which worries me the most... So any tips or even offers would be priceless. (Tips like "what's a typical price for a self-catering acommodation") would be really welcome.

Ahhh..... and please excuse me if i made any stupid mistakes while writing this post... English is my second language, but I still feel more comfortable with my first one :)

Heheehehhehe sense of humour is similar everywhere, I see... again, a kind request for any more tips and pieces of adviece considering... well, all You can think of. Like... what's the smoking oplicy on the Isle? 'Cause in Poland, one can smoke literaly everywhere, but I've heard that I may have problems with that on IOM. Plus the typical, average prices of.... evertything interst me. Write about everything You think I'll find useful - It gives me great pleasure to get to know about anything new about the Isle.

Thanks for the warm welcome everyone, I felt really nicely surprised by your connotations with Poles you know :D

I should eventualy excuse my english, but... heh... I won't. I'll get better after spending some time on the Isle :D

Most bars and pubs you can smoke in, restaurants and cafes tend to have smoking areas. It's not like Dublin where there is a smoking ban in place in any public place. Shops are non-smoking obviously.

In terms of prices,

Lager - £2.20 a pint average

Guinness - £2.50 a pint average

Bread - £1.00 per loaf average

Milk - 50 pence per pint

Spirits - £2.00 per shot average

Rent - £400 per month for a bedsit £500 per month for 1 bedroom flat

Petrol - 92p a litre

Cigarettes - £5.00 per packet (20)

Meal in a typical pub - £5.00 to £10.00 per person

Meal in a typical restaurant 3 courses - £25-40 per head

Wine in the supermarket - £3.00 to £10.00