More Rubbish Needed

TheTool

this is the quote from the manx radio website :

Local Government and Environment Minister John Rimington says extra fuel is needed at the incinerator because not enough waste is being burned there.

He was responding to a question in the House of Keys from Onchan MHK Peter Karran about the practice of burning extra fuel to keep the plant’s grate at the correct temperature.

Mr Rimington says although there are problems, he is confident that, as the amount of waste goes up, the plant will need less supplementary fuel.

Now we were talking about the silver elephant the other week and how it is only running at 25 to 40% capacity now the proof is out.

Why don't they let us take all our burnable waste to the energy from waste plant for nothing instead of paying for fuel to keep it running.

I am not a expert inn these matters but surely free fuel is better than spending money on oil or gas.

I agree with waste charges but i don't agree with having to pay £100 a ton for stuff that will just get burnt.

Blind leading the blind as usual

instead of paying for fuel to keep it running.

Why are we paying for the running off it? I thought it was taken over by a private company.

If it was taken over then they should be paying to run it surely?

They are buying in crushed timber and sub standard logging from DAFF as we speak at a fraction of the price DAFF charges a member of the public. They may also be burning the Cake from the treatment plant at Santon

instead of paying for fuel to keep it running.

Why are we paying for the running off it? I thought it was taken over by a private company.

If it was taken over then they should be paying to run it surely?

Because the Government over estimated the waste material to be burnt, thats why we have to pay £2 million pa compensation

The wasted energy plant as I like to call it, is another of our governments recent total f**k -ups.