No Future

pongo

Newsnight's economics editor writing in The Guardian:

the west’s model is broken. It cannot deliver enough high-value work for its highly educated workforce ... wages don't rise; you can't get on the property ladder. Fiscal austerity eats into your disposable income. You are locked out of your firm's pension scheme; you will wait until your late 60s for retirement. And if it all goes wrong, it's touch and go whether the welfare safety net will still be there

• Replies 163
  • Created
  • Last Reply

"the realisation has dawned on the graduate without a future: you have to make the future yourself"

That's the future, not expecting jobs in large companies. I'm glad I graduated in 1979 and am not graduating now.

the west's model is broken. It cannot deliver enough high-value work for its highly educated workforce ... wages don't rise; you can't get on the property ladder. Fiscal austerity eats into your disposable income. You are locked out of your firm's pension scheme; you will wait until your late 60s for retirement. And if it all goes wrong, it's touch and go whether the welfare safety net will still be there