Max Power

You'd think someone somewhere along the line from the publican to the coppers to the prosecutor to the magistrate would have a scrap of common sense wouldn't you?

I wonder how much this debacle has cost the taxpayer? Bound over to keep the peace FFS. If I was a doctor trying to save a close relatives life and someone tried to stop me, I think swearing would be the very best they could hope for. 

• Like 1

22 minutes ago, offshoremanxman said:

How were they even bound over to keep the peace? What peace? The man was having a seizure. They tend to be not very peaceful when they happen.

You wouldn’t perform CPR on someone having a seizure. You generally put them in recovery position.

Something doesn’t add up. It seems to be their language and behaviour after CPR stopped, that caused the charges. Accepting a Binding Over, is civil, not criminal, and  gets rid of the criminal charges.

We haven’t heard the story in full. The binding over was a deal cut between prosecution and defence. Nothing to do with the magistrates.

• Like 3

4 minutes ago, offshoremanxman said:

The person who administered the CPR was a Doctor. Presumably he knew what he was doing more than a pub bouncer? 

Maybe he wasn't a doctor in medicine so wouldn't know what to do for someone having a seizure? Playing devil's advocate 🙂

2 minutes ago, offshoremanxman said:

It’s a relatively bizarre report though. You do wonder how it ever got to court. The judge presumably knew the facts when he threw the main case out? 

No, the magistrates, 3 of them, wouldn’t know the facts. This was a deal between prosecution and defence. Defendants accept a binding over, prosecution withdraw the charges.

Magistrates rubber stamp withdrawal.

You never CPR or resuscitate someone having a seizure. The doorman, who will have had CPR and basic first aid, including dealing with seizures, as part of his DHA certification/registration process, was right.