Bird Flu

Amadeus

With more cases are being reported (Turkey, Romania, Russia, Germany, Croatia, etc) and the media already preparing to go into "let's cause some panic" mode, I thought a thread about it would be appropriate.

Bird Flu - the facts

Food guidelines

And before you get the slingshot/crossbow/airrifle out and hunt everything that flies:

What is the risk to humans from bird flu?

The risk from bird flu is generally low to most people because the viruses occur mainly among birds and do not usually infect humans. (from one of the links)

So I guess for the IOM, the worst that can happen for now is, that we get them Foot and Mouth disinfection points back - although how exactly we would get the birds to fly through them, I don't know...

As a responsible Mercedes driver, I have already taken appropriate action to prevent it from spreading - I knew the badge was good for something:

post-1086-1130327122_thumb.jpg

• Replies 31
  • Created
  • Last Reply

I think that the problem is because the bird flu can develop into a new deadly strain which no one has vaccines for but i don't think bird flu in general can be spread onto humans.

So should i panic for the fact that it could develop into a deadly strain or not!

I think that the problem is because the bird flu can develop into a new deadly strain which no one has vaccines for but i don't think bird flu in general can be spread onto humans.

So should i panic for the fact that it could develop into a deadly strain or not!

As far as I`m aware Avian Flu can be passed from bird to human. However it is not easily passed that way. Let`s keep our fingers crossed and hope a new strain which passes from person to person doesn`t appear.

On one hand I tend to believe a lot of this is all media-hype and everywhere is jumping on the bandwagon, afterall, it sells papers and makes people watch the news.